Simply Beauty Sydney

A quick year in review – Welcome 2014!

Wow, what a whirlwind 2013 was. Many highs, lows and all that in between – or what I like to call LIFE!

Sitting here trying to recap it all just feels impossible and I don’t want to bore you too much so here’s a quick(ish) rundown of 2013…..

Professionally and personally probably the most significant thing for me in 2013 was that I took on a part-time hairdressing apprenticeship. I was lucky enough to gain employment at an award-winning salon Brad Ngata Hair Direction. As many of you know, it has been a challenging experience for me. I’m not one for being out of my comfort zone, nor do I enjoy not being good at stuff – and this experience has included a lot of both of these things. I hadn’t studied so intensely after having Cooper, and as a mum going back to structured work and study it was an adjustment for us and often a guilty time for me. But I have enjoyed being part of a large team, watching and learning from extremely talented and generous individuals and making many new friends. I’m excited to be able to one day offer you hair services. The support from my family and friends as always is why I was able to take on this adventure, but very importantly the support, encouragement and flexibility of my clients has been truly amazing and so very much appreciated.

At Simply Beauty Studio the year was full of beauty! My home clients that I’m lucky enough to see on a regular basis kept me smiling all year round. I adore the relationships we have formed and thank you for your ongoing loyalty and support.

Holly-Maree and I had the honour of assisting many lovely women with their hair and makeup needs at their weddings and special occasions. Thank you every one of you that invited us to share with you your very special celebrations.

Opportunity to work with favourite Images by Brad was often a highlight. As I have mentioned before doing hair and makeup on the photo shoots for these women fills me with joy. The results that Brad produces always impress me. The connection he gets from his clients and the confidence transformation we get to witness is amazing.

I introduced new treatments to the menu. I’ve made no secret to how much I love (love love) eyelash perm Lash Lift. MYscara semi permanent mascara and a brand new air brush tan machine also topped off exciting additions to the business. My goal is to always stay fresh in my industry, so let me know if there’s something out there that interests you.

Lastly I would like to use this blog post to thank the people I get to work with often.

Holly-Maree, Hairstylist Phoenix Lane – you’re my girl! Working with you is so easy and lovely, and makes me proud. Your work is stunning, your attitude delightful and you really are one of the most hardworking chicks I know. 2013 was a big year for us, we both took on new studies and juggled them with our wonderful jobs and families. We survived! and I know it’s because we not only had the support of our loved ones at home but also each other. 2014 is ready for us, let’s do this!

Brad, photographer Images by Brad – thank you for the many opportunities to work with you and your amazing clients. It is an honour to play a small part in creating such beautiful images for real women. You are so extremely good at what you do and armed with your own studio, your constant flow of ideas and your talent, 2014 is going to be an exciting time for Images by Brad.

Nate, photographer Nate Jay Photography – this is a public declaration – we WILL work together more this year! 2013 was BUSY, you had a spectacular year. You launched your YouTube channel, fell in love, travelled, worked on a major commercial photography job, and that’s just to name a handful of what you achieved. I look forward to collaborating on more projects this year.

Okay folks – that will do it! Thank you again for all of your support and encouragement last year. I feel so lucky I get to do what I love for my job. I look forward to seeing you all soon and wish you an incredible 2014.

Kelly

Leave a Reply

